One Race to win it all.

Dundee hosted the Scottish CX championship in Camperdown Country Park over the weekend. The course was a good one at around 2.4km long there was nothing too technical from the old golf course and nothing too muddy but the course had almost everything, long straights, sand, mud and a few off camber sections. It made for great racing.

In the Juniors and Vet 40’s race David Lines started at the back of the grid and this gave him an adrenaline fuelled start and he charged his way through the field leading the vets and by the end of the first lap and charging on to try and catch the fastest Junior on the day Rueben Oakley. David eventually won the Vets 40 with Chris Buchan finishing 2nd close behind and a fine 3rd place for Malcolm Bain.

In the women’s race it was great to see Isla Short back racing after a rough time with health recently, not only racing but competing for the win. She was denied by Anna Flynn, who had finished second at the recent National Trophy race at Callender Park, who once again looked fluid and strong winning by a fair margin and never looked like she was in any pressure. The 3rd place women on the day was Elena McGorum from Peebles CC.

In the Vet mens 50 and 60 races, Murray Swanson won the Vet50s from a hard charging Gary McCrae after a lap 1 crash beating team mate Barry McGuire into 3rd whilst the Vet 60s was won by Brendan Roe, with Bill Young and Alistair Dow in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The last race on the day was the mens Senior race and this was a fantastic knock out battle between Gary MacDonald, Alex Ball and Charles Fletcher. For me the ride of the day had to be Alex Ball who done the lions share of riding on the front and looked in total control the entire race until the last lap when Charles stretched his advantage and took the win from Gary and Alec in 3rd.

Overall a fantastic day and I, as always, have left out so many other results and small victories throughout the day but I hope you enjoy the pics below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.